- Google is introducing a new Incognito Mode, which will keep your location data safe from prying eyes of third-party apps.
- The update will be rolling out later this month for Android users and the iOS version set to receive it right after.
- Enabling Incognito Mode will disable all custom recommendations like places to visit, restaurants and real-time traffic data.
Google has always implemented security features on all its platforms, but Google Maps has always been an exception. With the highly anticipated Google Maps Incognito Mode rolling out, users can now breathe a sigh of relief. It is unnerving to think your Maps data is not private, and Google is essentially able to track down your location at all times. More importantly, there are third-party apps that take advantage of the Google Maps API to track your location. So how does the new Incognito Mode help you? Let’s find out.
How Does Google Maps Incognito Mode Help You?
With the Google Maps Incognito Mode going live, all Maps activity will now be kept private and will not be saved on your Google account. All you need to do is turn on Incognito mode from your account settings or via the app. The downside is that you will not get personal recommendations based on your recent activity. But it is a fine tradeoff because you get complete privacy.
To access the new feature, tap on your photo in the Google Maps screen on your app or the website, and you will be able to locate the setting. If you want to turn it on and get restaurant recommendations, details about your commute and more, you can do so anytime you want.
The new Google Maps incognito mode will roll out to Android users in October. iOS users will be receiving the update shortly after as well. In addition to the changes to Google Maps, YouTube will also be receiving some changes to its privacy features. Users will soon be able to enable auto-deletion of their search history on the video platform.
Google users can also manually delete all search history using Google Assistant via voice commands. A new Password Checkup feature is also in the works which will allow all Google account owners to check if any of their saved accounts and passwords have been compromised in security breaches.
What do you think about the privacy update to Google Maps? Let us know in the comments below.