There may be a number of reasons why you want to delete your Discord account. Whether you want to make a new account or want to move to a different platform, the choice is completely yours. No matter what your reasoning is, we are here to help you find out how to delete a Discord account.
Why would you delete your discord account?
There can be multiple reasons why you want to delete your account. The first and the most obvious reason is that you do not need the account at all. Your friends might use other services, and you simply see no value in keeping the discord account. Another reason is your discord account getting hacked. In that case, changing the password can solve the problem. But, if you are still paranoid, then you can simply delete your discord account permanently and be done with it. Also, we recommend not to use the same email as that of the old deleted account.
One more thing you need to take care of is the servers to which you are the owner. It is better to have a friend, it’s better to make them an admin of the server before deleting it. Or you can simply create a new account yourself and make it admin of the server before deleting your previous account. This way, you will retain your server ownership.
Below is the method on how to do it.
How to Delete a Discord Account Permanently
If you are wondering how to delete a Discord account permanently, there are some prerequisites that you need to keep in mind. While things are less complicated if you do not own any servers if you do own one of more servers, here is what you need to do in the Discord app.
- Transfer any existing servers that you own by changing permissions on your server.
- Delete your server.
Both these options are accessible just by clicking on your server name and heading to the permissions/roles menu. Now that we have prerequisites out of the way, here is what you need to do to delete your account from the Settings menu.
- Head to My Account
- Click on the Edit button
- Click on Delete Account
That is all there is to it! You will need to put in your password one last time, and if you have two-factor authentication enabled, you need to enter a code as well. Simply press the delete button one last time, and you are good to go. Your data will no longer be accessible to Discord, and everything will be permanently purged.
If you want to make a new account using your same email, you can do so once your account is deleted. It is great that knowing how to delete a Discord account is so simple. Most services overcomplicate things and make it difficult. The app recently got access to custom status updates, if you want to find out how to set a custom Discord status you can check out our guide here.
What VOIP app are you moving to from Discord? Let us know in the comments below.